2023 Awards Evening

The Club held its annual end of season Awards Presentation on the evening of the last Saturday of the season. Despite the disappointment of the 1st XI having been relegated from the WDCU Western Premiership One, the occasion provided the opportunity to recognise the achievements of both players and supporters.

The Players 1st XI Player of the Year award was won by Gregor Chambers. As the top wicket-taker in the team with a total of 26 wickets in both league and cup competitions and also a total of 411 runs, Gregor had a fine personal season. His achievements with the ball also led to him winning the 1st XI Bowler of the Year award. The photograph below shows Gregor receiving his Player of the Year award from the Club's main sponsor Paddy Bryceland of Cleaning Supplies 4U.

The Players Glenpark XI Player of the Year award was won by Emily Norris. Although neither the top run -scorer nor top wicket-taker for the team, Emily demonstrated great enthusiasm and also considerable cricketing ability throughout the season. As a regular frontline medium pace bowler, Emily took nine wickets and was also a fine fielder for the team.

Emily received her award from Club President Charlie Loftus. Emily also plays for West of Scotland Ladies and her team won the Beyond Boundaries Womens Scottish T20 Cup, with Emily making significant contributions with the ball in both the semi-final and final matches of the competition.

Alex Jasper presented Tom Polkinghorne with the award of the 1st XI Batsman of the Year.

The award for the Glenpark XI Batsman of the Year Award went to Sudeep Chaudhary and he was presented with his trophy by Roger Hardie while Dave Sharma was given the Glenpark XI Bowler of the Year award.

Two awards were handed out for the Most Improved Player in the senior elevens. The award for the 1st XI went to Usman Mansoor and that for the Glenpark XI to Muhibullah Ahmadzai, the awards ebing presented by the respective team captains, Greg McDougall and Eddie Ahmad.

In addition to these specific performance awards there were number of other awards handed out.

Appreciation Awards were presented to a number of individuals to recognise their efforts in various ways to support the teams. Theses were presented to Charlie Loftus (Club President), Colin McDougall (Grants & Child Protection Officer) and Alan Boag (Groundsman) by Stewart Robinson while John Riggans made presentations to Ian Chambers, Emily Norris and Alice Loftus, Charlie Loftus to Alex Wooler, Peter Hempsey and Emma Norris, Alan Currie to Lynn Cole (Bar Manager), Paddy Bryceland and Shailesh Prabhu and Dave Sharma to Angela Prabhu, Jim Lepick and Brian Roberts.

A Special Award for International Achievement was presented to Lukas Fischer-Keogh for being a member of the Scotland Under-19 Cricket squad which successfully qualified for the ICC Under-19 World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka in 2024. Lukas was presented with his award by his dad Callum.

The final award of the evening was the Club Player of the Year and this was given to Sam Sanghera for building and maintaining player sponsorship records, improving player communication and his non-stop enthusiasm. Sam received his award from former Greenock and Scotland international Tom Black as can be seen in this photograph.

During the course of the evening, medals were awarded to the two runners-up for the various performance awards.

1st XI Batsman of the Year - Gregor Chambers and Lukas Fischer-Keogh

1st XI Bowler of the Year - Greg McDougall and Nagendra Nagaraju

1st XI Most improved player - Aryan Sanghera and Lukas Fischer-Keogh

Players 1st XI Player of the Year - Tom Polkinghorne and Aryan Sanghera

Glenpark XI Batsman of the Year - Eddie Ahmad and Chris Hempsey

Glenpark XI Bowler of the Year - Emily Norris and Inamullah Khan and Asad Farooq (latter two tied)

Glenpark XI Most improved player - Hamid Safi and Emily Norris

Players Glenpark XI Player of the Year - Dave Sharma and Eddie Ahmad

Club Player of the Year - Eddie Ahmad and Aryan Sanghera

Awards were given to Nagendra Nagaraju and Hamid Safi for taking 5 wickets in a match and to Inamuullah Khan for his hattrick against Inverclyde.

Before he left to return to India a week earlier than intended. popular professional Rahul Dalal was presented with a trophy for Best All-Rounder by John Riggans and a medal for Most Centuries by Alex Jasper.

The Club would like to thank the following members and local businesses who provided support for the Awards Evening - Alex Jasper, John Riggans, Sudeep Chaudhary and The Manzil Tandoori.

Thanks are also due to the following people who helped with the organisation and presentation of the Awards Night - Sam Sanghera, Emily Norris, Emma Norris, Vishal Yadav, Aryan Sanghera, Usman Mansoor, Shailesh Prabhu, Eddie Ahmad, Peter Hempsey, Peter Robertson, Mamie Clisham and guest speakers Robbie Henderson and John McDougall.


Photographs (courtesy of Angela Prabhu Photography)

Click on a thumbnail to see an enlarged version of the picture. Thereafter, simply scroll the cursor over the left or right hand side of the picture to see options that will provide the facility to browse through the complete gallery without returning to the thumbnails.